Chicago Illini of the Year

2015 Recipients

Pedro J. Cevallos-Candau Pedro J. Cevallos-Candau MS ’77 ENG, PHD ’80 ENG
Co-founder, President & Co-CEO, Primera Engineers, Ltd.

Jeanne K. Gang Jeanne K. Gang’86 FAA
Founder and Principal, Studio Gang Architects

Howard T. Griffith Howard T. Griffith ’91 LAS
Football analyst, Big Ten Network; Radio Host, ESPN-Radio Chicago

Past Recipients (Occupations listed were current at time of award)

Stephen D. Bardo ’90 las
College Basketball Analyst, ESPN, Big Ten Network and Fox Sports 1

Carrie J. Hightman’79 las
Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer, NiSource Inc.

Ryan Baker ’91 MEDIA
Sports Anchor/Director, WBBM-TV/CBS 2 Chicago

Celene Peurye-Hissong ’74 LAS, MSW ’76
Focused Philanthropy

Jesse H. Ruiz ’88 LAS
Partner, Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP

The Hon. Timothy C. Evans ’65 LAS
Chief Judge of the Circuit Court of Cook County

SamuelMendenhall ’88 CBA (UIC), JD ’91 LAW
Equity Partner
Winston & Strawn

Carol Hillsman Sagers ’79 MEDIA
Founder and Consultant
CHS Marketing Consultants

G. Thomas Castino ’60 ENG
Retired President and CEO
Underwriters Laboratories

Mary Frances Fagan ’76 MEDIA, MA ’83 LAS
Director, Corporate Communications
American Airlines

Howard M. Katz ’82 ACES
Senior Executive Vice President
Lettuce Entertain You Enterprises

Ronald W. Bess
’69 BUS, ’72 MEDIA
President and CEO, Euro RSCG Chicago

Robert D. Kleinschmidt ’63 FAA
President, Powell/Kleinschmidt Inc.

Richard C. Romano ’54 LAS
Founder & Chairman, Romano Brothers & Co.

Gail Veasman Kellogg '65 LAS
Retired principal, partner and consultant, Hewitt Associates

Cirilo A. McSween '54 LAS
Owner, Cirilo McSween Insurance Agency
Founder and President, Black McDonald's Operators Association

Avy H. Stein '77 BUS
Managing partner, Willis Stein & Partners LLC

Caroline Becker Joss ’84 ACES
Co-founder and designer, Caroline Rose Inc.

Sheldon B. Rubin ’64 LAS, ’66 VM, DVM ‘68
Former owner and director emeritus, Blum Animal Hospital; author

Paul Schrage, MS ’59 MEDIA
Retired Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer, McDonald’s Corp.

Richard Cline ’57 LAS
Chairman & Director, Hawthorne Investors, Inc.
Managing Partner, Hawthorne Investments, LLC

Robert Falls ’76 FAA
Artistic Director, Goodman Theatre

Roger Plummer ’64 ENG
President & CEO, Plummer & Associates Consulting

Howard Engle ’72 BUS
Partner, Deloitte & Touche LLP

John David Mooney MFA ’65 FAA
Founder and Artistic Director, John David Mooney Foundation

Pamela Bristow Strobel ’74 MEDIA, JD ’77 LAW
Retired Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer, Exelon Corporation

Carol Ross Barney ’71 FAA
Founder and President, Ross Barney & Jankowski

Jack Klues ’77 MEDIA
Chairman and CEO, Starcom MediaVest Group

Thomas Miner JD ’53 LAW
President of Thomas H. Miner & Associates, Inc.
Chair and Founder, Mid-America Committee for International
Business and Government Cooperation

Corinne J. Wood ’76 LAS
Former Lieutenant Governor of Illinois

W. Gene Corley ’58 ENG, MS ’60, PhD ’61 ENG
Senior Vice President for Engineering, Construction Technology Labs, Inc., head of federal investigation into collapse of World Trade Center buildings

Cary D. McMillan ’80 BUS
Chief Executive Officer, Sara Lee Branded Apparel

Doris Christopher ‘67 ACES
Chair and Founder, The Pampered Chef

Dr. Emiel Hamberlin ‘77 EDM, ‘83 EDD
Biology and horticulture teacher at DuSable High School
Inductee, National Teachers’ Hall of Fame; Golden Apple Award

Robert P. Crawford ‘59 MEDIA
Retired “Dean” of Chicago broadcast journalists, more than 40 years with CBS and WBBM

Cheryl Berman ‘74 MEDIA
Chief Creative Officer, Leo Burnett USA

Eli Cohen ‘55 ENG
Principal Engineer, Thornton Tomasetti Engineers

Ralph Johnson ‘71 FAA
Director of Design, Perkins & Will

Mary Dempsey MS ‘76 GSLIS
Commissioner, Chicago Public Library

Mark Tebbe ‘83 ENG
Chair and Founder, Lante Corporation

Thomas Tunney ‘77 ACES
President, Ann Sathers Restaurants

Avis LaVelle '75 MEDIA
V.P. for Government & Public Affairs, University of Chicago Hospitals, former Press Secretary for Mayor Richard M. Daley

Lynn Martin '60 LAS
Chair, Deloitte Touche's Council on the Advancement of Women,
former U.S. Secretary of Labor

Arnold Weber ’50 LAS, AM ’51 LIR, HON ‘97
President Emeritus, Northwestern University

Nicole Hollander '60 FAA
Sculpter, writer, creator of comic strip “Sylvia”

Johnny "Red" Kerr '54 ALS
President, Kerr Financial Services
Announcer for Chicago Bulls basketball team

Sam Skinner '60 BUS
Capital Partner & Co-chairman, Hopkins & Sutter
Former U.S. Secretary of Transportation and U.S. Chief of Staff

Lester McKeever Jr. '55 BUS
Managing Principal, Washington, Pittman & McKeever

Tonise Paul '79 MEDIA, MS '80 MEDIA
President and CEO, BBDO Chicago

Sheldon Good '55 BUS
Chairman Emeritus, Sheldon Good & Company

Roger Ebert '64 MEDIA
Film critic, author

Carol Marin '70 LAS
News anchor, CBS News

Joel Weisman '63 BUS
News analyst and private attorney, Siegman & Weisman, Ltd